Recognizing Excellence in Programming, Membership, and Social Action

WRJ Central District Awards

As a volunteer organization, we appreciate the hard work, dedication and creativity demonstrated by our members. The Awards Committee would like to pay tribute to women who especially deserve appreciation for the work they do. This is more than acknowledgment, but recognition of women and sisterhoods which affect change and accomplish goals.

    The Awards Committee of WRJ Central District looks forward to awarding the following awards for the Central District Convention of November 2016.

    We will be accepting applications for these four honors of distinction are:

    • The Innovative Programming Award
        This award recognizes a sisterhood in each of the categories of small, medium, and large for an innovative, energizing, and original program.
    • The President’s Award
        The Central District President determines the theme of this award. This biennium, the President’s Award recognizes a sisterhood in each of the categories of small, medium and large for an outstanding program or event on the theme ​ “Limdu Heiteiv, ­ WRJ’s Anthem”. ​ This anthem is based on the words of Isaiah 1:17 “Learn to do good, seek justice; relieve the oppressed. Uphold the orphan’s rights; take up the widow’s cause.” Examples of programs illustrating the above biblical verse could include but are not limited to aiding under served populations, social justice issues (i.e. pay equity, immigration reform, paid family leave), women’s and children’s issues, etc.
    • The District Emerging Leader Award
        One sisterhood woman from within the Central District will receive this award. A sisterhood may nominate a woman who exemplifies the strengths and has shown the skills, abilities, and willingness to accept a leadership role in her sisterhood, Central District, or WRJ in the recent time frame. This should be someone new to a leadership role.
    • The Deborah Honor
        This award recognizes one woman from each sisterhood who has demonstrated extraordinary service and commitment to both sisterhood and Judaism based upon criteria established by the sisterhood. Each woman nominated by her sisterhood to receive the Deborah Honor will be given a Deborah certificate.
    • The Chai Reward will be given to each of the Sisterhoods winning The President’s Award, the Innovative Programming Award and the woman winning The District Emerging Leader Award. The tribute will be in the form of a $90 (5 x $18) credit toward a District event.

    Programs must occur between November 2014 and November 2016. The deadline to submit an application is August 1, 2016.
    Applications will be available online this spring.
    Please contact Jan Muhlbaum, WRJ Central District Awards Chair at 513-252-3545 or email

    WRJ Awards

    The Women of Reform Judaism Or Ami “Light of My People” Awards for Excellence in Sisterhood Programming, presented at each Assembly, honor sisterhoods and districts undertaking unusual and significant social action programs, community service, or educational projects.

      Please refer to the WRJ website for more information about these awards.

    Established in 1973, the WRJ Or Ami “Light of My People” Award for Special Achievement in Programming recognizes exemplary social justice, community service, and educational programming that serves as a model for other WRJ Districts and sisterhoods.

    Applications for the 2020 Or Ami Awards are open now through July 10, 2019.

    Apply here–

    Those whose programs and projects are selected as recipients will be recognized at WRJ’s Fried Leadership Conference 2020, which will be held from April 30-May 3, 2020 in Phoenix, AZ.

    The Kavod (“Honor”) Award in Memory of Helen M. Dalsheimer acknowledges sisterhoods who have demonstrated exemplary support of the YES Fund for three consecutive Assembly periods (six years). To continue as a member, a sisterhood must win an award or receive an honorable mention in at least one YES Fund Award category at all future Assemblies. – See more at:

    The Achat [“individual”] Award is given to the one sisterhood with the largest per capita contribution through the sale of YES Fund items and/or cash contributions to the YES Fund during the two-year period prior to the Assembly.

    The Avodah [“service”] Award is given to the sisterhood in each of four membership size categories that has made the highest total contribution through the sale of YES Fund items and/or cash contributions to the YES Fund during the two-year period prior to the Assembly.

    The L’Chaim [“to Life”] Award is given to the sisterhood with the highest percentage of new Lifeline members during the two-year period prior to the Assembly.

    The Ma’agal [“Circle”] Award is given to the sisterhood with the highest percentage of individual donors (formally Circle of Service, not including Lifeline) over the previous two year period.

    Check out our past Central District Winners

    WRJ Incubator Grants

    Incubator Grants is an initiative designed to inspire and enable “outside the box” programs and provide new ideas for all WRJ sisterhoods and Districts. Many of our sisterhoods have projects they would like to pursue and share but do not have the resources to create them. WRJ will be providing incubator grants in order to enable the enacting of programs which create caring communities, promote Reform Jewish values, cultivate spiritual or personal growth, or give more women the opportunity to do tikkun olam, repair the world.

      Grants will be awarded to sisterhoods in good standing with WRJ and their WRJ District who submit applications with creative thinking and new and innovative ideas. Applications can be for one-time projects or ongoing initiatives, though it is a one-time grant. The grant may be used to fund program expenses from $500–5,000 USD, though the WRJ Incubator Grants Committee will determine the amount of the award.

    • See more at:

Comments are closed.